Fighters

I know I’m an anomaly at times (all spelling mistakes are optional). I love to give advice, I love to encourage, but I don’t have that dangerous personality that thrusts myself forwards. “I know I could have, but I chose not to.” Is almost my motto, almost for those who know me that know with encouragement I will do so much more.

Well, there are some things I want to do, and one of them is drive. I want to drive a car I own around a track, and not just any car, but a car built for the purpose of driving. I know the ideal is in my bloodstream, not just through a simple urge, but through my genetic structure. My late grandfather, my grandad, was a formula one mechanic when the sport was driven by ego and heart, not sponsors and budget. He knew more about engines than I know I’ll ever manage, but every time I take the perfect corner I can see him smile, and every time I grind the clutch I can hear him laugh at my mistake. So I know I’ll get out “on track” some day, sooner or later. I’m not alone in this urge, a lot of perfectly sane people decide that life is best lived with small bursts of controlled speed, and a special kind of insanity made of tarmac and rubber.

Perry McCarthy is one such bloke. Unless you are an extreme fan of Formula One, or a fan of the underdog, you may not have heard his name before. Unless you like motorsport considered ‘obscure’ by the US networks, or have watched the BBC show “Top Gear”, you’ve probably never seen him drive. That doesn’t matter though, because you still must read his autobiography. If, like me, you’ve ever had a moment where you’ve wondered if you should take a risk, and chosen the safer option, then you should read this book, because here is a guy who not only knew what he wanted to do, but would stop at nothing to do it. I’ve watched Perry drive, and he is amazing, I’ve read the book, and now I feel I know what kind of belief and risk that level of energy takes.

If you want to smile, and can understand what would make a man risk house, home, and life to achieve his goals, then I strongly suggest you read this book….

Leave a Reply

