Doing it again

Idiosyncrasies make us who we are. We all have our little foibles, our little weaknesses. One of mine is an inability to rationally use time when I am alone. The two word version of the previous sentence would be “I procrastinate”.

I’m doing it now. Laura has had to leave early for her business trip to Las Vegas, and this means that I am home alone. I’ve already prepared for this moment mentally. I’ve been telling myself for the last few days that I will use the time alone wisely, and make an effort to get to sleep by 10:30pm each night. I’ll rise early and exercise before going to work. It will be brilliant…

So instead here I am at 11pm, sat at my computer, blogging away, wasting minute after minute on something that could wait until tomorrow. As I type I am listening to the faint sound of a group of trespassing teenagers lingering on the covered bridge that crosses the entrance to my neighbourhood. I’m wondering if I should go and ask them to move along, but as I’ve just heard car doors slam I am probably not going to have to risk confrontation. It was just a group of four girls and possibly a guy, taking pictures of each other on a cold windy night. I was that young once, but I don’t remember trespassing so close to peoples homes. I remember trespassing across fields and farmland, fords, and driveways, but never near a home and never loud enough to cause lights to be switched on or people to ask us what we were doing.

Funny, I never thought I’d be the old guy who asks the youngsters to move along especially as I still enjoy a moonlit stroll through rural countryside. I don’t tend to wander over here in the US, something to do with easy access to hand guns. That said, back in Warwickshire I can think of a few walks I wouldn’t mind taking at the moment and a few friends I’d take them with… you know who you are 😉

So the kids have gone, I’ve missed my self-imposed curfew, and I really should call it a night. I’d just like to wish a somewhat belated Happy New Year to all my readers, don’t let the insomnia worry you and make sure you all get to bed a reasonable hour!

This post was written with musical accompaniment provided by Finally We Are No One is an album by the Icelandic group múm, and a large mug of Tazo “Calm” herbal tea. Goodnight!

One comment

  1. Vash · January 5, 2007

    Happy New Year Ford! I’d have gone out and moved ’em on!

Leave a Reply

