Local currency

Having just travelled back home to England I endured and enjoyed the adventure of having two types of change in my pocket and a mixture of notes in my wallet. I didn’t see the new twenty pound note but I did have lots of fun trying to tell ten pence pieces from quarter dollars, and before anyone mentions it only one has a picture of the Queen on it!

Before I travelled I had to explain on numerous occasions to colleagues that Great Britain had not adopted the Euro as the national currency. I have always been a strong supporter of the pound and don’t want to see it rolled up and thrown in the waste bin as another part of Tony’s “New Labour” legacy. I had been amazed at how the German, French, and Italian people had so readily surrendered what is an important part of their national identity, the colour and shape of their money.

So I was surprised and fascinated earlier this year when I read an article on BBC News that “Germans take pride in local money“. The fact that the Euro has been forced to run alongside home grown monetary funds shows that its popularity is not as all encompassing as one might expect. It also shows that small groups of local people can create their own economic freedom if they work together and that these independent currencies can seriously boost the local economy of a region. Check out the article, it makes for an interesting read.

Leave a Reply

