25 Years of Spectrum

I remember playing games on a Spectrum 48k at a friend’s house way back in the mid-eighties and being impressed by the range of colours it could produce. Things have changed a lot since then, and I’m not sure if the connected kids of today would be able to understand the excitement of tape-loaders. (BBC News – Spectrum link)
This wasn’t my first exposure to computers though. I remember Dad bringing home an Eagle in 1981. Can’t quite recall if the first machine was an Eagle 1 or an Eagle 2, but I know the first code I wrote was on an Eagle 2 in what must have been ’82 or ’83. This early exposure to computing must go some way to explain why I’m still working in the industry today, and next time you’re complaining about a low resolution image online don’t forget that many of us started out with 80×24 character green text-only screens.

I suppose my first exposure to a PC as we know it today would be the “high tech and sleek looking” Rair Black Box. Looking at the details of it now I realise it is older than the Eagle, but it was far more stylish and a whole lot quieter in operation.

If you’ve never seen an Eagle or Rair up close, you can see it in the Old-Computers.com museum.

One comment

  1. Nhu · April 24, 2007

    The Eagle looks ancient. Ian, you’re old :]

Leave a Reply

