Finding music

In the summer of 1996 I heard a track on BBC Radio 1. I’m not sure now, in 2008, if I heard it once, or a whole heap of times. It could have been an oddity on John Peel (my record collection has a few of these as those who know me can well imagine) or it might have been a bit of mainstream on Simon Mayo, right now I don’t remember. What I do remember is the track was a song called “Your Summertime” by an artist called Raissa and the tune caught in my head.

As many of you know I catch tunes frequently, but this one stuck hard enough for me to buy it from Our Price in Stratford-upon-Avon. Not only did I buy it, but I bought the CD single (even though my car had a lowly cassette deck at that time, heck my current car does too). It became a favourite track of mine, and I’ve listened to it on and off since then, but I’ve not heard anything more about Raissa…

So imagine my surprise when I find not only a fansite, but also news of albums and a new project being pushed on MySpace. I even bought another CD (her second album Believer)!

So if you feel inclined, listen to the sultry folk sounds of The Mummers via MySpace and also check out the video and other interesting things over at www.Raissanet.co.uk!

Leave a Reply

