Toyah – Anthem

Toyah played a concert at my college the year I finished my A-levels.  The concert was not well attended but it was great to see live a performer who I’d been a fan of since seeing her videos on Top of the Pops and listening to my dad’s copy of Anthem.

Now I can’t find a video for “Marionette” which is my favourite track off Anthem, but here for your enjoyment is “I Want To Be Free”.  This is a brilliant example of a powerful minimalist video!

The album is awash with the artistic punk-pop expressionism that blossomed in the early eighties.  If you’ve not got a copy stashed away somewhere on tape or vinyl then your music collection is sadly lacking.

Leave a Reply

