Food for thought…

XKCD - A Webcomic - Steal this Comic

XKCD - A Webcomic - Steal this Comic

This cartoon made me laugh and also think nervously about my collection of MP3s and audio casettes that I’ve made from my CD and vinyl collection over the years. It also explains clearly why I buy MP3s DRM free from Amazon.com.

As long as the artist gets paid fairly and as long as I don’t sell it or give it away without paying the artist again, or use it in broadcast or performance without broadcast rights does it really matter how many personal copies I make?  I could play a single CD in my computer, in my car, and in my hi-fi by carrying it around with me, but I don’t have a CD player in my car, and might not want to run up and down stairs all day trading CDs between my computer and the hi-fi…but I only listen to one device at a time, so it could still be 1 usage!

This cartoon is lovingly pirated wholesale from the XKCD website, click the image above to go to the brilliant XKCD website itself!

Leave a Reply

