Christmas Chart #6 – Fairytale of New York

The video today is not just a classic song, but also taken from one of the best Christmas films ever made and not released on DVD (much to my annoyance). When Channel 4 showed Malcolm McClaren‘s brilliant film The Ghosts of Oxford Street in 1991 I was much younger than I am now, but the show is still one of my favourite Christmas television shows even though I’ve not been able to see it since! Shows like this are few and far between and it is a shame that it has never been released.

The song I’ve taken from this brilliant film is performed by the late, great, Kirsty MacColl and The Pogues and is the played everywhere tune Fairytale of New York:

Leave a Reply

