The Allergen Diet

I knew I’d always had allergies, hay-fever, certain food didn’t agree with me.  Whatever, you just get on with it, take a decongestant or a painkiller when it gets bad, try to avoid being around certain plants or environments at certain times of the year, but hey it could be worse, crack on.

After much encouragement from my wife I finally plucked up the courage to go and see an allergist, and have a prick test to see if I really had a problem.  Turns out it was a good idea to get tested, as I showed reactions ranging from normal to severe to almost everything they tested me with.  At the doctor’s advice I have started a course of injections to build up my immunity to the environmental allergens, but we wondered what to do with the food allergies?

The Doc suggested two courses we could take; a long slow elimination of one allergen at a time, or a more aggressive removal of all foods I had a severe reaction to for a period of a month, and then a slow re-introduction of items one by one to see how I cope.  Being a glutton for punishment, and interested in testing my will-power and motivation I decided upon option #2 the total removal of all 3 and 4+ allergens.  So now I’m looking at a month without any of the following:

  • Grains; including wheat, rye, and even rice.
  • Yeast; which rules out wine, beer, and most alcohol as well as usual cooking uses.
  • Dairy; including cheese, milk, butter
  • Most tree nuts
  • Soy
  • based on the scores I should also try and limit chicken and egg yolks where possible.

This leaves me with most fruit and veg, red meat, fish, and potato vodka, rum, and tequila to drink.  I shouldn’t suffer too much then!  The tough part will be changing my cooking practices to not use butter or milk in mashed potatoes, etc.  So just for the record, on Day #1, this 6 foot tall ape descendant weighs in at 157lbs (or 11stone 3lbs for the Brits).  I don’t need to lose any weight, but I’m intrigued to see what this “allergen diet” is going to do to me.

One comment

  1. Cooking Articles · March 7, 2010

    First of all, awesome post! I’ve got a little question nagging me, I really enjoy the theme of your blog and tried to install the same layout on my WP website. Stil, there is some kind of weird php error in the footer. Do you have any tips, which settings are you using? Please PM me on Twitter @HealthyLivin or via e-mail.

Leave a Reply

