Do I believe in ghosts?

No.

That was quick.  Well I used to, but then I started thinking about it.  I’ve had my time of thinking about different ways of explaining the inexplicable, and have bored many friends for hours with my somewhat haphazard theories about mental magnetism, Houdini, and spiritualism.

To save yourself a similar journey I strongly suggest you listen to The Infinite Monkey Cage discussing Science and the Supernatural.
I’d love to say that the experiences of my past, of ghosts in my parents house, and phenomena on former battlefields, had convinced me of “something” beyond what could be explained by science. However, as I’ve grown older I’ve noticed that I do not “feel” the way I used to, but instead of putting this down to some loss of “power” I put it down to questioning my surroundings more, and having broader experience that allows me to explain to myself what I have (and am) experiencing psychologically and physically.

This episode of The Infinite Monkey Cage addresses why some people are more susceptible to seeing patterns in random noise, why some patterns insist on seeing the worst, or assuming something is there beyond what can be readily explained.  So give it a try and see what you think…

 

 

One comment

  1. uphilldowndale · July 6, 2011

    I heard a little of this program, sounded fascinating. Off to download it and listen with less distractions.
    I don’t believe in ghosts, but I do think we are capable of sensing, picking up and ‘knowing’ of far more than we could ever believe possible, its not supernatural, its natural. We’ve lost touch with our instincts, and replaced them with education and sophistication.

Leave a Reply

